2012 Woman of the Year

Chief Justice Carol W. Hunstein received 2012 Woman of the Year Award

Chief Justice Carol W. Hunstein of the Supreme Court of Georgia* The Georgia Woman of the Year Committee, Inc., Georgia Commission on Women and the Georgia Women’s Institute are happy to announce that Chief Justice Carol W. Hunstein of the Supreme Court of Georgia has been chosen as the 2012 Georgia Woman of the Year. On Thursday, August 23, 2012, she will be honored at 103 West Restaurant in Atlanta with a reception and dinner.

*There are several ways in which you may participate:

  • Reception Sponsor - $ 3,500.00
  • Hans Frabel Award Sponsor - $ 1,500.00
  • Table Sponsor (Eight reservations) - $ 1,000.00
  • Scholarship Sponsor - $ 1,000.00
  • Individual Ticket - $ 100.00

We will award at least four unrestricted educational scholarship grants of $1,000.00 each for women enrolled in Georgia’s colleges and universities, selected by our scholarship committee, based upon academic excellence, leadership, career objectives and need. You may sponsor in the name of your company or organization or in honor of an individual by presenting the scholarship in their name.

Thank you for your support. We look forward to celebrating with you on Thursday, August 23rd, as we honor Chief Justice Carol W. Hunstein, continuing the tradition that began in 1996 with our first honoree being Rosalynn Carter. Other honorees have included Dr. Betty Siegel, Justice Leah Ward Sears, Dr. Claire Hicks, Secretary of State Cathy Cox, First Lady Marie Barnes, Mayor Shirley Franklin, Georgia Power’s Judy Anderson, WSB-TV’s Monica Pearson, Sara Blakely of SPANX, Reverend Joanna Adams, Coca-Cola’s Ingrid Saunders Jones, U.S. Poet Laureate Natasha Trethewey, Nanette Wenger, M.D. and Xernona Clayton.

You may respond by calling the office of the Georgia Commission on Women at (404)232-3700, or by calling Nellie Duke at (770) 832-7095. You may also respond by sending an e-mail to gawomanoftheyear@gmail.com. You will receive a formal invitation to this event by mail.

* Organized in 1996, to Honor Outstanding Georgia Women